Leon Pape Memorial Lecture 2002



Margie Yu
Public Affairs Spec.
(323) 343-3047

of Events

Nobel Laureate in Chemistry
to Speak on “Freezing Time” at
Cal State L.A.’s 19th Annual
Leon Pape Memorial Lecture

Los Angeles, CA -- Nobel Laureate Ahmed H. Zewail will speak on the topic, “Freezing Time,” at California State University, Los Angeles’ 19th Annual Leon Pape Memorial Lecture. The presentation, sponsored by the Cal State L.A. Department of Physics and Astronomy, is free to the public and will be held on Friday, April 12, 2002, beginning at 2 p.m. in Physical Sciences, room 158, on the Cal State L.A. campus. Reception will be immediately following the lecture at the Roybal Center.

Dr. Ahmed H. Zewail, a recipient of the 1999 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, is the Linus Pauling Professor of Chemistry, professor of physics, and director of the NSF Laboratory for Molecular Sciences (LMS) at the California Institute of Technology (Caltech). Zewail is a research scientist studying ultrafast processes in biology, chemistry, and physics, using rapidly pulsed lasers. These molecular changes may occur in quadrillionth of a second, known as femtoseconds. His discoveries now define the area of femtochemistry, and his laboratory is informally referred to as “Femtoland.”

In recognition of outstanding contributions to chemistry for the betterment of mankind, Zewail recieved the Robert A. Welch Prize from the Wech Foundation, one of the oldest and largest sources of private funding for basic chemistry research in the United States. He has also received the Wolf Prize, the King Faisal Prize, the Benjamin Franklin Medal, the Peter Debye Award, and the E.O. Lawrence Award. He was honored with Egypt’s Order of the Grand Collar of the Nile, the highest state honor, and the country issued postage stamps to honor his contributions to science and humanity.

Zewail was educated in Egypt, received his B.S. with honors and M.S. from Alexandria University, and Ph.D. from the University of Pennsylvania. He holds honorary degrees from universities in the USA, UK, Switzerland, Egypt, Belgium, Australia, Canada, India and Italy. Zewail is an elected member of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Philosophical Society, and the American Academy of Achievement, and is a fellow of the American Physical Society. He is a member of the Pontifical Academy of Sciences, the European Academy of Arts, Sciences, and Humanities, the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters, the Indian Academy of Sciences, and the Royal Society of London.

The lecture series, honoring the late Leon Pape, a member of the Cal State L.A. Physics Department faculty from 1961 to 1971, brings Nobel Prize winners and distinguished experts in the science field to the campus. Past speakers have included Nobel Laureates Rosalyn S. Yalow, William A. Fowler, Linus Pauling, Hans A. Bethe, Leon M. Lederman, Francis H.C. Crick, Walter Kohn, David Baltimore, and F. Sherwood Rowland.

For more information, call the Department of Physics and Astronomy at Cal State L.A., (323) 343-2100.

# # #

TOP | Cal State L.A. | Public Affairs Main Page
Back to:
News Releases Page | Services for Journalists Page