CSULA Outstanding Staff


Cal State L.A. Staff Awards


The Outstanding Staff Award was initiated in 1983 to recognize members of the University community who have made significant contributions to improve the quality of University life for Cal State L.A.'s students, faculty, staff and administrators. This award is especially meaningful because it is an acknowledgement of excellence from peers and colleagues on campus.


2013 Outstanding Staff Award:
Amy Miller, College of Natural and Social Sciences


2012 Outstanding Staff Award:
Joanna Martel, Career Development Center


2011 Outstanding Staff Award:
Suzanne Galyean, Department of Communication Studies


2010 Outstanding Staff Award:
Gonzalo Centeno, Office for Students with Disabilities


2009 Outstanding Staff Award:
Monica Ling, Nursing


2008 Outstanding Staff Award:
Diana Balli, History


2007 Outstanding Staff Award:
Gwen Franklin, Kinesiology and Nutritional Science


2006 Outstanding Staff Award:
David Linnevers, Engineering, Computer Science, and Technology


2005 Outstanding Staff Award:
Stan Carstensen, Office of Public Affairs


2004 Outstanding Staff Award:
Cheryl Sugiura, Kinesiology and Nutritional Science


2003 Outstanding Staff Award:
Edward Fisher, Academic Advisement Center and G.E. Honors Program


2002 Outstanding Staff Award:
Erica Orendain, Roybal Institute


2001 Outstanding Staff Award:
Elizabeth "Libby" Kent, Business Financial Services


2000 Outstanding Staff Award:
Kathy Lex, Engineering and Technology


1999 Outstanding Staff Awards:
Jeff Tat-Peng Cheam, Engineering and Technology
Stacy Truong, University Library


1998 Outstanding Staff Award:
Thomas Murillo, Chemistry and Biochemistry


1997 Outstanding Staff Awards:
Nofoao Leau, Pan African Studies and Latin American Studies
Jo Ann Ortega, Chemistry and Biochemistry


1996 Outstanding Staff Awards:
Geri Higley, Geological Sciences
Brian Magness, Physics and Astronomy


1995 Outstanding Staff Awards:
Theresa Flores, English/Liberal Studies
Reynald Payne, Communication Studies
Margaret Smith, Chemistry and Biochemistry


1994 Outstanding Staff Awards:
Yolanda Galvan, English
Richard Perrigan, Chemistry and Biochemistry
Elizabeth Strother, Business and Economics-Undergraduate Programs


1993 Outstanding Staff Awards:
Tita Cisneros, Scheduling
Linda C. Thompson, Library
Linda Wong, Accounting


1992 Outstanding Staff Awards:
Jeanne Gee, English
Katherine Nixon, Music
Catalina Silva, Natural and Social Sciences
William Wimberly, Chemistry and Biochemistry


1991 Outstanding Staff Awards:
Rebecca Aguilar, Business and Economics
Esther Espinoza, Scholarship Office
Roland Lilly, Plant Operations
Linda Zepeda, Learning Resource Center


1988-90 Outstanding Staff Awards: N/A


1987 Outstanding Staff Awards:
John Caulfield, Physics and Astronomy
Eileen Roberts, Academic Senate
Sandra Sugiura, Student Services
Pat Tom, Economics and Statistics


1983-1986 Outstanding Staff Awards: N/A

# # #

Back to: News site  |  Services for Journalists  |  Public Affairs  |  Cal State L.A.