Meet the Board of Trustees

Fiscal Year 2021-2022 (July 1 - June 30)


photo of Omel NievesMr. Omel A. Nieves 
Shareholder and COO
Hunt, Ortmann, Palffy, Nieves, Darling & Mah, Inc. 

Vice President

photo of Larry AdamsonMr. Larry Adamson
Alumni Trustee
California State University Foundation




photo of Danielle AresMr. John Tcheng
Director, Budget Administration
Cal State LA














Duran headshot cropped Danielle Ares-Duran
Membership Coordinator

Petersen Automotive Museum




Nelson Algaze headshot   Mr. Nelson Algaze
   Shlemmer Algaze Associates (SAA)



   Ms. Lorraine Bradley 
   Retired Educator (LAUSD)



photo of Danielle AresChristopher Garlington
Director, Enterprise Compliance Programs
The Walt Disney Company


photo of Sergio GonzalezMr. Sergio Gonzalez 
City Manager 
City of Azusa



photo of Alev Lewis

Ms. Lina Hu
Founder, Chairman and CEO
Clipper Corporation



photo of Alev Lewis

Ms. Alev Lewis 
Managing Director, Partner 
Acacia Wealth Advisors at HighTower 



photo of Rosario Marin

Mr. William Lewis 
Executive Vice President
Bolton Company, Inc. 








photo of Rosario Marin

Ms. Rosario Marin 
Marin & Marin, LLC 

photo of Dwight NakataMr. Dwight Nakata, CPA, CFP 
Financial Advisor 
Investment Adviser Representative 
Cetera Financial Specialists LLC 





Jorge   Mr. Jorge Ramirez
   President and CEO
   SAFNA Engineering & Consulting




  Mr. Barry Rondinella 
  John Wayne Airport



photo of Nilza SerranoMs. Nilza Serrano 
LA City Employees’ Retirement System

photo of Robert VelasquezMr. Robert Velasquez 
VP & Chief Accounting Officer 
Tejon Ranch Co. 





Student Trustee

photo of Danielle Ares Student Trustee-at-Large



Faculty Representatives

Dr. Rachel Friedman    Dr. Rachel Friedman
    Associate Professor

    Technology Department
    Cal State LA


Hazra Headshot   Dr. Devika Hazra
   Assistant Professor

   Department of Economics
   Cal State LA 



Ex-Officio Trustees 

Bettcher headshot  Academic Senate Chair
  Dr. Talia Mae Bettcher
  Professor and Chair, Philosophy
  Cal State LA  

photo of Danielle AresAlumni Association President
Ms. Bertha Haro
Director of Business Development
Great Minds in STEM

photo of Danielle Ares Associated Students, Inc. President Designee
Mr. Andrew Klein
College of B&E Rep., A.S.I.
Cal State LA

Joyce Williams  VP for Administration and CFO
  Ms. Joyce Williams
  Cal State LA

photo of President Covino

University President
Dr. William A. Covino 
Cal State LA 

photo of Danielle AresVP for University Advancement
Mr. Robert Avalos
Cal State LA